Yesterday I had my lesson with Ivan titled, ‘Transhuman, Posthuman, posthumous?’ The discussion was quite broad but was focused towards trying to define what it means to be human in order to make sense of the post and trans human era. I have partially researched into Transhumanist study for a previous module and so unlike other lessons it was good to have some knowledge of it so I could have a better grasp of more involved ideas.

What I like about this topic is that it is so present but often I feel the concept is not really recognized in society and it is very interesting to be able to identify the timeline of this study. Also, because I have prior knowledge of the subject I feel that with this topic I can really focus my attention to a particular angle, unlike previous tasks where I have spent my time learning the surface information. This means I will be able to develop more of a concentrated knowledge on the ideas of Transhumanism. I think the task – 2 book reviews is good as it gives me the opportunity to achieve this as I will be focusing much of my attention on 2 particular pieces of literature. I have also never done a book review, neither have I used the end note referencing system so it will be good experience and an exciting opportunity to explore a different to written work.

Obviously I will be conducting other research but I feel in previous study tasks I have done a lot of surface reading to gather information on a subject (because of the nature of the tasks) and so this will allow me to approach the research with a different style.

Much of the lesson was on discussing or rather trying to define what it is to be human, Transhuman and Posthuman and I think it is important to establish a strong understanding of this to be able to cite back to this when making points. I am not sure of the angle I will approach this yet but that will obviously develop as I begin my research.

Figure 1. I think this image for the simplistic nature it is, says a lot about this subject and clearly denotes a kind of timeline approach to the basic Transhumanist ideologies.

Figure 1. I think this image for the simplistic nature it is, says a lot about this subject and clearly denotes a kind of timeline approach to the basic Transhumanist ideologies.

 

Jason Sosa in his Ted Talk is very clear at outlining the concept of Transhumanism and uses very good examples to make sense of the ideas and possibilities that the movement could materialise in the future.

I find it very interesting that he argues that “the pace of technology will evolve to the point where biology will become the limiting factor”. (Sosa 2014: 1.50). I will not elaborate on this or the rest of his commentary as this is something I will look into in my next post. I felt however that it is a very informative source which proposes strong arguments and so it would be good to include here as a starting point to establish my research.

 

References

Sosa, J. (2014) The Coming Transhuman Era: Jason Sosa at TEDxGrandRapids , June 2014. Available at:  http://tedxtalks.ted.com/video/The-Coming-Transhuman-Era-Jason%5BAccessed on 22/10/2014]

Figure 1. Transhumanism: It’s Inevitable. Available at: http://www.zengardner.com/wp-content/uploads/Transhumanism1.jpg [Accessed on 22/10/14]

 

