https://www.dropbox.com/s/the0rqv8b5gfwwy/Love%20for%20an%20Object.mp3?dl=0

Above is a link to a drop box download of my Podcast that I previously did in the module (discussed in the first post). I will use this post to briefly discuses some of the strengths and weaknesses as i think this will allow me to see where I need to improve and also identify what I did well to replicate similar techniques.

The project was briefed as a four minute podcast which discussed my love for an object and which locates itself within Screen Cultures. It is important therefore to point out that this podcast does differ in the sense that the content was very personal and the theme was very much inspired by nostalgia and reminiscence, with less ‘outside commentary’. The basis of inspiration for the structure however was the BBC’s History of the World in 100 Objects series which is something I will also further look at. This series is very well done and a very enjoyable listen and so I will revisit these for help and inspiration into structure and style.

So moving on… Overall I felt that the biggest issues with my podcast were the following.

  1. Over powering ‘P’s’. –  Referred to as popping P’s; in phonetics the letter requires a puff of air to achieve correct pronunciation and this puff of air is picked up very easily by the microphone which is very sensitive to picking up sounds, often unwanted ones. This was caused from my lack of experience with recording sound and also because I did not give myself contingency time for any issues that could arise (which was bad planning on my part given my inexperience). However this is easily remedied by not speaking directly into the mic but rather above it so the air is not picked up. I feel that this was probably the biggest issue with my podcast and is something I can ensure does not happen this time round which gives me confidence in creating work that is of higher quality.
  2. Jumping from my own voice to other speakers without an introduction. – At 1:26 I bring in voice clips from figures who provide an insightful and entertaining discussion of my topic. However I do not introduce these individuals and this can cause confusion towards the audience. Also it undermines the authority of my work as I give no indication as to who is speaking and this could cause the audience to question the validity of what is being said. This is also very unfortunate as those speakers where in fact authoritative experts on the matter and my failure to acknowledge who they were in the podcast was something that can be easily avoided.
  3. Lack of time between cuts when talking during recording. – During the recording stage there were points where I did not give a 3 – 5 second contingency gap and started talking or ended the recording too early. This meant that during editing there were cases where my speaking seems very abrupt and not to a c conversationalist or relaxed manner. Therefore listening at pints can be uneasy which is something that can have a detrimental effect on listening to a podcast. Again this is very easily avoided and is something I can ensure I do this time round.

The positive notes that I can take however is the overlay of sound effects and music. I think that the intro and sound which is repeated throughout is effective in creating a solid structure which breaks up the podcasts into sections and then finishes it. I used shorter versions of the sound effect in between and I think that kept it dynamic and not too repetitive. Also the sounds that underlay my talking I think work well and is entertaining but it also gives the podcast ambiance and nostalgic feeling towards my discussion.

Overall the issues with this podcast are very simple to ensure they are not repeated and this give some confidence that I can also use my time to learn and develop new techniques in planning, recording and editing the podcast through online learning.

 

References

Utterback, A S. (2011) ‘Preventing those Pesky Popping P’s’.  [online] Available at: http://onlinevoicecoaching.com/?p=1344 [Accessed on 09/03/15]

BBC. (2012) ‘A History Of The World In 100 Objects’. podcast series [online] Available at: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00nrtd2 [Accessed on 09/03/15]

 

