As I earlier stated, one of the initial inspirations for wanting to create a podcast was the BBC’s History of the World in 100 Objects and so I wanted my project to model on a similar structure to this. In this instance Neil MacGregor presents a 100 part series of 15 minute podcasts where he talks about ancient artefacts from around the world. Of course the magnitude of this is far superior to mine but I very much liked how he gives a significant introduction to the next podcast at the end of each one. Furthermore the sound that is used really creates great consistency and synergy and this congeals the series very smoothly. Therefore I wanted to break my podcasts up into differing sections but use the same theme music and style, for example the way other speakers are introduced.

BBC’s  History of the World in 100 Objects presented by Neil MacGregor’s – http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00nrtd2

I also wanted to use this project as an opportunity to experiment with narrative. As I have already identified that my project has 3 differing sections I know that this can consume 3 podcasts. Furthermore, whilst they cross over and have similarities, the audience can listen in whichever order they choose, as the argument’s are singular. However the issues that arise are introducing, concluding and providing historical context (early hypertext systems). I could possibly give a short 1 minute intro and conclusion on each of the three but this is repetitive and unnecessary. Or I could make the intro (including context) and the conclusion static and randomize the middle content, meaning there will be 5 individual podcasts. Of course the intro and concluding podcasts would be shorter.

Figure 1 - 3. B.S Johnson's 'The Unfortunates'

Figure 1 – 3. B.S Johnson’s ‘The Unfortunates’

B.S 2 B.S 3

B.S Johnson’s The Unfortunates (above) is a good example to bring up here. The Unfortunates is an experimental “book in a box” originally published in 1969 and later reissued in 2008. The book consists of 27 unbound sections with a first and last chapter that are required to be read either side of the 25 sections in between that are to be read in a random order so the story is a differing experience each time it is read.

So, obviously my idea is very similar to this in the sense of intending to have an intro and conclusion with 3 sections in-between that should be listened to in random order. I will include a brief discussion of the historical context (Bush’s memex and Nelsons Xanadu) in the introduction as I think this should be included within this part as it helps create better understanding and meaning within the middle sections. Therefore the conclusion will definitely be shorter.

I propose that the introduction will be 2 – 2.5 minutes, followed by 3 content sections to be played at random that will last 3 – 3.5 minutes finished by a conclusion that will be 1.5 minutes. This gives an approximate time of 12.5 – 14.5/15 minutes. I feel that this is an adequate amount of time for this size project, if anything slightly longer. However I think the top end of time is good to acknowledge in case it is required to be that length with the research I have collated. As with the BBC’s podcasts discussed above and like my previous podcast, I shall break up each section with the same themed music to achieve consistency and a recognizable theme.

 

References

Figure 1. Image available at: https://winstonsdad.files.wordpress.com/2010/02/the-unfortunates-001.jpg [Accessed on 11/04/15]

Figure 2. Image available at: https://anzlitlovers.files.wordpress.com/2010/04/img_1612.jpg [Accessed on 11/04/15]

Figure 3. Image available at: http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Observer/Columnist/Columnists/2010/7/28/1280312036142/bs-johnson-005.jpg [Accessed on 11/04/15]