I have now completed my Research and have found the following videos which I will be using during my podcasts. Each are interviews of authoritative figures in my topic who provide very insightful accounts of their own work and ideas. By editing the audio and cutting the clip I can really give my podcasts a dynamic and exciting feel.

 

I am now at the point where I have loosely scripted my work through bullet points, short paragraphs and improvs which will help me stay on track of where my discussion is heading. Prior to recording I have been searching for tutorials and tips that will help improve my technique of podcast recording. The below websites give some very useful tips, some of which I was aware of, and others which I would not necessarily think to do, but all of them are achievable.

http://labnol.blogspot.co.uk/2006/09/audio-podcasts-tips-video-tricks.html

“Always maintain a constant distance between your mouth and the microphone [~3”] so that the sound levels do not vary during the recording process

 A sample rate of 44.1 KHz with 16 bit resolution in either mono or stereo channels is perfect setting for most podcasts.

Most audio software have a recording meter that displays the volume level in real time. You may want to maintain the level around the -12db mark for best recording. Don’t let it touch the infinite mark.”

The first point was something I have identified earlier in this project as it was something I have previously experienced issues with. At the time I was quite unaware of the repercussions that would arise from not maintaining consistent and correct mic positioning.

Both the last 2 points are new to me and not something I knew. Of course I will try these settings but I will also try experimenting with a different resolution. Also, regarding the level maintenance, I feel this is something that can quite easily be adjusted in post production. Of course I understand the importance to record with the best quality achievable but I am just highlighting that I feel there is room for contingency in this aspect which can be very helpful with sound recording.

http://www.feedforall.com/top-podcasting-great-sound.htm

“Find a secluded spot to record your show; this will help minimize background noises. Use the same spot to record each show, which will result in continuity in recordings.

Prior to recording, conduct an audio test to make sure that the sound quality is acceptable and background noise is minimal.

Record longer shows in short segments; this will make the final editing process easier.”

I think the above point of honing in on consistency is very important in producing podcasts, not just during recording but each aspect of the project. Also, I will ensure testing as mentioned above to compare the quality based on different settings, but also so I can check if the mic is picking up any unwanted background noise.

As I have stated, I have a rough outlined script and I plan on recording shorter segments of the whole content. I have an introduction, conclusion and 3 content episodes averaging at around 3 minutes. Therefore I will break each section up into 1 minute recordings as I feel this will make the editing stage more manageable.

Therefore because of this I expect to have around 20 separate recordings (obviously there will be more that are discarded) and so I feel devising a strategy for filing them correctly is essential. I think the level of consistency is far more important than the format of the name as this will ensure efficiency and less errors.

http://theaudacitytopodcast.com/tap090-how-to-organize-audiovideo-podcast-projects-audacity-audition-or-anything-else/

The above website is very thorough in explaining how to organise podcast projects. As well as discussing file naming he covers the whole process of making a podcast and recomends documenting each thought process that could help aid the episodes by using paper, note pads and note taking apps. He suggests to keep an unedited and unprocessed version of each recording, even if it is unused. Whilst I feel this may be slightly inefficient as files can be recorded once not in the final edl, it could provide extremely useful to keep them. If organised correctly they are easy to store and may need to be used, even if unplanned.

A final thing I will bring attention to is this point.

“Some editing programs allow you to create a “label track” that can hold annotations at points along your timeline. This can help you find locations in larger projects”

I have used smilar techniques in other programs such as Flash and this proved to be very helpful, however I was not aware that this could be done in audio editing programs and so I will have to explore whether this can be done in Adobe Audition. If so this is a very helpful thing to have found out and I think it will be very beneficial to me both in this project and in future ones.

References

Agarwa, A. (n.d)10 Killer Tips for Creating Successful Audio Podcasts’.
[online] Available at: http://labnol.blogspot.co.uk/2006/09/audio-podcasts-tips-video-tricks.html [Accessed on 16/04/15]

Ch@nge (2014) Neil Selwyn about OpenMind’s Ch@nge, in Mexico . Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bajz0Ey2ptU [Accessed on 16/04/15]

‘Feed For All’. (n.d) ’10 Podcast Tips To A Great Sound’. [online] Available at: http://www.feedforall.com/top-podcasting-great-sound.htm                        [Accessed on 16/04/15]

Happy & Well (2014) Marc Prensky ‘Brain gain: technology and the quest for digital wisdom’ at Young Minds 2013 . Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7wowZRDx344 [Accessed on 16/04/15]

Lewis, D J. (2012) ‘How to organize audio/video podcast projects – TAP090’.
[online] Available at: http://theaudacitytopodcast.com/tap090-how-to-organize-audiovideo-podcast-projects-audacity-audition-or-anything-else/                     [Accessed on 16/04/15]

The Guardian (2011) Susan Greenfield: Mind change is ‘an issue that’s as important and unprecedented as climate change’ . Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FE61qIV0zSQ [Accessed on 16/04/15]

The Institute of Art and Ideas (IAI) (2013) Susan Greenfield: Mind Change – New Technologies & The Future of the Brain . Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEc2p8UcFeU [Accessed on 16/04/15]

Tom Maynard (2012) Nicholas Carr & Stephen Fry on The Effects of Web Culture . Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MA_kxQTutbA [Accessed on 16/04/15]

 

 

 

