I have just completed my day of planning for the symposium which is this Wednesday. Below are the images for my slideshow followed by my discussion revolving the questions/areas that need to be covered.

Figure 1. Symposium slideshow.

Figure 1. Symposium slideshow.

 

Slide2 Slide4

Slide 1. Intro, name, project name and short synopsis.

Slide 2. How you are approaching documentation process (techniques, frequency, amount etc…)

My main source of documentation is through my blog. I have one category for the module and tags to categorise the content. So for example my research is different to documentation reflection and also to my evaluative input. I blog on a Sunday and Tuesday as a minimum but so far I have been more frequent and I do expect this to continue, however I stated 2 because I did not want for my blogging process to be detract from the project itself as whilst documenting the process is important, ultimately the outcome is obviously most important.

All of my blog post lengths differ. I set myself no minimum or maximum length as I judge what I need to document based on the current task. For example if I am reading a book or a paper I may be more analytical in one instance than another because I feel it is more beneficial at that point. Because of previous work I feel confident enough to judge how my research and working methods are contributing to my project and what is sufficient enough.

Slide 2. Why is this appropriate for my particular project

The blog facilitates the use of multimedia and so I can show and talk about many different formats, which is very useful to my research. Also, by being able to tag allows me to structure my documentation for a more convenient method of access and this saves me a lot of time.

Slide 3. How am I approaching reviewing my documentation and reflecting on activity

At the end of my working week on a Tuesday I podcast for about 3 to 5 minutes where I address how things have gone in the week, if I am on target with my schedule, and what I have found at that is beneficial to my project as well as what I have to do next week. This allows me to reflect on the current progress and sit back to see where my project is going and it also allows me to keep on top of my work which is very effective.

I also ask myself at the end of the week what I found out that surprised me and why. This stimulates deeper thought and interaction with the material I am looking at and helps me to gain a deeper understanding and appreciation of my work.

Slide 4. Any changes I plan to make

I have reviewed where my project is and I am looking to refine the content and rather than be diverse with my scope. By narrowing it down and being precise will allow me to produce work which is very developed and deep in what it looks at. Of course this means that previous research may not be directly usable, but it is certainly not wasted as it gives me a wider and richer insight into what is happening in my field and influences my thinking and understanding of external factors.

Slide 5. Any effective or striking aspects that may be useful to other members of group

Talk about looking at key figures (canon) to embed knowledge of whatever you are doing in experts of your field and also consider the reliability of whatever it is you are looking at and if appropriate, judge its value based on currency vs reliability.

 

 

 

 

 

