The last thing I have to do design wise before I begin in illustrator is to decide what front I will use. As I said in an earlier post (09/08/15), I will only be using 1 font throughout, with the cards split into half red and half black – just like in a conventional deck of cards. Below are 7 mockups of 3 cards which all have different fonts that I have narrowed my selection down to.

TypeBookman

Bookman Font

TypeCenturyGothic

Century Gothic font

TypeGaramond

Garamond Font

TypeGeorgia

Georgia Font

TypePalatino

Palatino Font

TypeVeranda

Veranda Font

TypeTimesNewRoman

Times New Roman Font

The first thing to decide is sans or sans serif. From research it is commonly accepted that sans fonts are more suitable for screen and for print sans serif is the best option.

“In his book Cashvertising, Drew Eric Whitman cites a 1986 study of fonts (printed on paper) that found only 12 percent of participants effectively comprehended a paragraph set in sans-serif type versus 67 percent who were given a version set in serif typeface.

Those who read the sans-serif version said they had a tough time reading the text and “continually had to backtrack to regain comprehension.”” (Wood, J 2011)

Out of the seven font types, two are sans serif as although it is unlikely I will use these I still wanted to consider them. Admittedly though I think the sans fonts look better because they have a more traditional feel to them and this is synonymous with playing cards. Also, the design on my cards will be (as illustrated above with the ‘e’) very clean and contemporary and so this aspect combines well to create an effective mix of old and new design which is very reflective of the content and message.

Out of the above fonts I think Garamond is very easy on the eye; its clean, thin and delicate. Also this aspect would be something which saves on ink which whilst not important in this situation, it could be when thinking about the dissemination of my work and mass printing. However I find the ‘W’ quite distorting in the way the lines cross over themselves and I find that there is a short pause when I am reading over the cards. This is a big problem as the point of this project is for the cards to be read very easily whilst they are being used. Therefore the text must not be causing communication issues. Also the font is quite close together, although I could change this by increasing the kerning but because of the issue with the W I think I will refrain from using this font.

The font type I prefer is Times New Roman. Its easy to read, the letters have a good weight and the font is widely used and commonly known which will help increase comprehension and absorption which are very important in this case. Also, as I mentioned above, it is accepted as a traditional font and I think it sits well amongst the contemporary vector design.

References

Wood, J. (2011) The Best Fonts to Use in Print, Online and Emsil. [online] Available at: http://www.awaionline.com/2011/10/the-best-fonts-to-use-in-print-online-and-email/ [Accessed on 11/08/15]

Halek, K. (n.d) How To Pick The Perfect Font For Print Projects. [online] Available at: http://millo.co/how-to-pick-the-perfect-font-for-print-projects [Accessed on 11/08/15]

